Type to Search

Take This

Posted by : on

Category : life


This blog post adapted from a LinkedIn post


Did you know that Riot Games partners with the non-profit mental health foundation Take This? I didn't either!

(edit: forgot to link Take This)

When I started searching for studios to intern with, I already had a few in mind. However, I questioned whether I was being overly optimistic in applying due to my ADHD-C.

I've been open about my disability for years, both in classes and online, hoping to create a space for others to share their experiences. It's a significant part of our identity as individuals with ADHD. For me, concealing this aspect felt like wearing a heavy mask.

Sharing my concerns here on LinkedIn, I sought insights from those familiar with the industry. I wanted to avoid a situation where I'd end up feeling like a failure.

A pivotal moment came when a Rioter, Jeff Poss, responded reassuringly. He emphasized that neurodivergence is common and many find success in gaming.

This spurred me to push the gas. In the weeks since, I've discovered the video game industry is an inclusive, diverse community. Individuals like Amir Satvat embody kindness and dedication.

I'm realizing the game industry could be where I finally find my people.

Optimism grew as I researched internships. Riot's commitment to inclusivity through Riot Inclusion Groups and partnership with Take This, focused on mental health advocacy, stood out.

I aspire to amplify ADHD advocacy and see opportunities through Take This and RIGs.

Stigmas are potent, affecting those with stigmatized disabilities. Even I fell victim to self-doubt. Believing that I might not belong in this industry almost held me back.

Now I'm brimming with enthusiasm to be a part of the video game industry. I'm excited to submit applications and join this incredible family.

Thank you all for making someone like me with ADHD feel seen and welcome!

- Josh ✌


About Joshua Lollis
Joshua Lollis

Student/Game Dev/Programmer/Artist/Musician based in Fullerton CA, USA

Email : lollisjosh@csu.fullerton.edu

Website : https://telloviz.netlify.app

About Josh Lollis

Hi, my name is Josh! I love creating! I hope you find something that inspires you here. :D