Type to Search

The Art of Games

Posted by : on

Category : linkedin



Philosophy is a joy of mind... I mean mine.🤡


Throughout college, I have tried to find ways of shoehorning game related study into any of my class that I can. In doing this, I've been able to do projects, research and presentations into a diverse list of important and interesting topics in the realm of games and game culture including but not limited to:

  • The Ethics and Property Rights of Canceled and End of Service Video Games
  • NAT Punch-Through, with attention to its use in multiplayer networking
  • The Ethical Implications of Micro-Transaction Practices

Game Design class was different in that it allowed me to talk about about games without having to find a way to squeeze them under the umbrella of any particular class. I truly enjoyed it, and tried to soaked in every moment. I think that my passion and love for the fundamental primal essence of games comes through in the followin post I made earlier today on LinkedIn. This post is a 'repost with thoughts' to a great post by Scott Fine, and attached to his post is a 13 page document going into further detail about the things he discussed in his post.

I urge you to check out Scott's post

- Josh✌️


My 'Repost w/ Thoughts'

Check out this great breakdown of some of the ways games keep us coming back for more even when...

...there isn't anything left to come back for. 🤔

Scott's analysis threw me back to the Game Design class I took a few semesters back. Coincidentally, I've been reminiscing about that class lately while working on my cover letter . 😊

In addition to designing a traditional game, and implementing various games with PyGame, the class spent a lot of a time focusing on the theoretical side of games.

Even in the more philosophically charged lectures, it was a very hands-on experience because our class was quite active in debating on our thoughts pertaining to things like why we play games, what games fundamentally are (and aren't), and how we as developers impact our communities in creating games.

Game Design class was the catalyst in my understanding to what level of artistry goes into designing games. I'm not just referring to the aesthetic elements or soundtracks, but instead in the effect games have on players themselves. Games can have a very real and lasting impact on a players thoughts and emotions in much the same way that a painting or play might.

I tend to be a very philosophically curious person. During the pandemic I faced some deep depression, and it was around this time, I'd discovered both Socrates and Taoism. Coincidentally I'd also been taking the classes Computer Ethics and Game Design. It was in this pocket of time where my germinating roots took hold and my curiosity for philosophy bloomed rapidly.

In Computer Ethics, I had the opportunity to work on a team with 5 other colleagues (now great friends) in presenting our research into the ethical implications of a culturally significant games being discontinued and/or taken out of production. Because I'd been recently studying Socrates, I spoke a lot from his perspective (as told through his students).

Socrates as you may know, is known for his "Socratic" method of asking questions repeatedly until either one is satisfied with the result, finds an answer, or is imprisoned and executed for asking too many questions around town. 😅

I think philosophical analysis often takes a backseat to discussion on gameplay mechanics, visuals, or cost. However, as Scott's post demonstrates, the Socratic Question is a beneficial technique to consider when analyzing the art (games) we make.

I believe that approaching game design along a more holistic path, allowing the very root essence of games to touch our bare soles, we will in turn touch the very souls of our players.

I think that this approach is much more potent than any manner of aesthetic or gameplay novelty when it comes to enticing players to return long after the credits roll. 💞

Just my twelve cents!

Great post Scott! Thanks for the further reading as well!

- Josh✌️


Scott's post


About Joshua Lollis
Joshua Lollis

Student/Game Dev/Programmer/Artist/Musician based in Fullerton CA, USA

Email : lollisjosh@csu.fullerton.edu

Website : https://telloviz.netlify.app

About Josh Lollis

Hi, my name is Josh! I love creating! I hope you find something that inspires you here. :D